11/02/2016 10:02:42 PM


The AIRR group nationally consists of over 220 independently owned stores, with a tagline of “always there” which typifies  these independent stores and their commitment to Rural communities. AIRR stores are known for suppling the most comprehensive product range, competitive pricing and industry leading service to Farmers and community Members all day every day.

Every February the AIRR Member group meets for their annual Conference on the Gold Coast to participate in information sharing between Members and Suppliers, provide a united voice on industry issues, participate in a Trade Show and recognise achievements at the awards Gala dinner. The awards Gala dinner is the highlight of the event with fierce competition amongst Members to receive nominations for State and Member of the year and receive a coveted “Windmill trophy”,  the  trophy symbolising the AIRR association and Rural Australia’s reliance on water to keep communities alive and feed our city cousins.


To be nominated for a windmill  is a tremendous achievement and serves as recognition that these leading independent AIRR members stores are at the top of their game in delivering what  farmers and valued town customers want & need all day, every day in order to run a successful operation.

The criteria to be nominated for the windmill awards are as follows:

Growth of sales

Growth of product range in existing product categories/segments

Entering new product categories/segments

Store presentation and evolution

Customer Service

Local Marketing and community engagement



The nominees and winners for the State and National awards are as follows:

Queensland  AIRR Member of the Year


Acres Rural – Baralaba & Rolleston

Farmstuff – Biloela & Monto

Norco Co-Operative

Rocky Feed & Seed – Rockhampton

Winner: Farmstuff



NSW AIRR Member of the Year


Candelo Stockfeeds - Bega

Hazells Farm & Fertilizers - Tamworth

McAllister Saunderson- Gundagai & Tumut

 Stock & Crop - Barraba

Winner: McAllister Saunderson


VIC/TAS AIRR Member of the Year


Kober- Echuca 

Leongatha Rural - Leongatha

 Murray Valley Rural & Plumbing- Numurkah, Cobram & Katunga

Yolla Producers Co-Op – Wynyard, TAS

Winner:  Yolla Producers Co-Op – Wynyard, TAS


SA AIRR Member of the Year


Agfert - Balaklava

Cox Rural Group – Clare, Keith, Naracoorte, Coonalpyn, Tintinara and Jamestown

Daish Irrigation & Fodder- Strathalbyn &Murray Bridge

Gambier Rural Traders – Mt. Gambier

Winner:  Agfert


WA AIRR Member of the Year


Budget Stockfeeds - Oakford

 C T & L Woodcock - Northampton

Dardanup Rural Supplies - Dardanup

Winner: C T & L Woodcock- Northampton


AIRR Member of the Year: National/overall

River Murray Trading Post – Tailem Bend, SA